Earth Day 2020

Poplar Bluff student winners named in Earth Day contest
Posted on 03/30/2020
Brandon Francis; Terena Whitworth; Cailin Pratt, Carli Pundsack and Wyatt Meurlott-Luebben; Meagan Bader; and Steve Whitworth.

Poplar Bluff Junior High and Technical Career Center students were recently awarded for placing in a T-shirt design contest initiated to promote the 50th anniversary of Earth Day. 

On Thursday, March 12, top students received $50 gift cards and trophies, sponsored by Ozark Federal Credit Union. Winners in the PBJHS category were: Cailin Pratt placing first, Carli Pundsack placing second, and Wyatt Meurlott-Luebben – third. TCC winners were: Jessica Paulin placing first, Jaden Jordan – second place, and Alayna Stokan – third. 

The overall winner of the design chosen by way of committee was Jon Daniels, an area art teacher, who entered the adult category through the Margaret Harwell Art Museum, and received $100. T-shirts are available for purchase at the art museum, with proceeds supporting the operation. 

“I chose the Junior High and Senior High levels for the T-shirt design contest since we love for students to be a part of the art museum,” stated Terena Whitworth, event organizer, whose husband Steve serves as museum director. “This was a way to make them aware of the 50th anniversary of Earth Day and the Margaret Harwell Art Museum at the same time.” 

Terena Whitworth, a retired educator, said she can recall celebrating the 40th anniversary as a teacher at the former Poplar Bluff 5th and 6th Grade Center, and the 30th anniversary at O’Neal Elementary School. “My goal is for the whole community to become more aware of saving our planet and to celebrate Earth Day some time in April,” she continued. 

The Margaret Harwell Art Museum is planning an ‘edible landfill’ and ‘junk sculpture’ activities free for children, ages 5-12, tentatively scheduled for 1:30-3:30 p.m. Saturday, April 18, at 421 N. Main St. For more information, contact Terena Whitworth at 573-785-3332. 


Cutline: (Left to right) PBJHS teacher Brandon Francis; organizer Terena Whitworth; students Cailin Pratt, Carli Pundsack and Wyatt Meurlott-Luebben; Ozark FCU representative Meagan Bader; and Margaret Harwell Art Museum Director Steve Whitworth.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.